Hamish Woodward

Ranking Roman Reigns’ WWE Championship Wins (From Worst To Best)

Roman Reigns

Roman Reigns has won the WWE Championship four times in his career, the most of any current full-time WWE wrestler.

His first WWE Championship win was in 2015, when he pinned Dean Ambrose at Survivor Series for the vacant title belt.

Since then, he has gone on multiple legendary runs with the WWE Championship, including his current reign that is nearly in its second year as champion. As well as winning four WWE Championships, Roman Reigns also has two Universal title wins.

How Many Times Has Roman Reigns Won The WWE Championship?

Roman Reigns has won the WWE Championship four times, with his first reign beginning in 2015, and his last in 2022.

The former Shield member has won the title as both a face and a heel, and has won the belt at WrestleMania (twice), at Survivor Series and even on Raw (in the first title change on free TV in years).

Here is every Roman Reigns’ WWE Championship victory ranked, starting from the worst matches where he won the belt, moving up to the greatest WWE Champions wins of Roman Reigns’ WWE career.

4. Vs. Triple H, WrestleMania 32

Roman Reigns’ won the WWE Championship from Triple H in one of the worst WrestleMania main event matches in the history of the WWE.

Triple H won the title from Reigns at the 2016 Royal Rumble, when Vince McMahon forced him to put the belt on the line inside the Royal Rumble match itself.

The Game entered the match as a surprise entrant at number 30, as a weary Reign fought valiantly after ending from number 1.

Despite trying their best, Roman Reigns and former partner Dean Ambrose were eliminated by Triple H, who went on to defend the belt against Reigns in the main event of WrestleMania 32.

The Roman Reigns vs Triple H match for the WWE Championship was not good. It was a long, drawn out affair that had no business being as lengthy as it was, outside of it being a “Triple H overbooked WrestleMania” style match.

It came at the end of a six-hour WrestleMania show, with the fans tired at the climax of the show and at the continued push of Roman Reigns.

They paid little attention of the boring match, which had one memorable spot in the whole match – when Roman Reigns speared Stephanie McMahon, finally giving her some comeuppance after years of torment from the Chairman’s daughter.

3. Vs. Sheamus

After Sheamus cashed in his Money in the Bank briefcase on Roman Reigns at Survivor Series 2015, the Big Dog entered into a feud with Sheamus, the League of Nations and Vince McMahon.

After being screwed out of matches by Sheamus’ teammates Rusev, Alberto Del Rio and Wade Barrett, Roman Reigns earned a title shot against the Irish champion.

On the December 14th, 2015 episode of Monday Night Raw, Roman Reigns managed to fight off the League of Nations to beat Sheamus, winning his second WWE Championship title just weeks after his first. This was a “title vs career” match, so the stakes could not have been higher.

However, Vince McMahon – who for some poorly explained reason did not want Roman Reigns as WWE Champion – made his first appearance in years by interfering in the match where Reigns won the belt.

In a fun match (but mainly for McMahon’s part, including the OAP taking bumps on the apron from Reigns), Roman Reigns managed to beat Sheamus to retain his belt, much to the chagrin of the WWE Chairman.

It was a barely notable match, but it got over huge with the crowd who were shocked to see a WWE Championship title change, as well as Vince McMahon’s big return to the ring.

2. Vs. Brock Lesnar, WrestleMania 38

While most people were dreading a third Wrestlemania main event match between Roman Reigns and Brock Lesnar, their encounter at WrestleMania 38 actually turned out to be their best yet.

The match between Brock Lesnar and Roman Reigns finally saw Reigns defeat Lesnar in the main event of WrestleMania, adding his fourth WWE Championship to his already legendary Universal Championship title reign.

The match was shorter than expected, with Reigns winning a match marred by an anticlimactic finish, which had fans worrying that Roman Reigns injured himself during the match.

However it later came out that he was not injured and the match was bizarrely just structured that way.

The match was a double title match, with both the WWE Championship and Universal Championship matches on the line.

1. Vs. Dean Ambrose, Survivor Series 2015

Roman Reigns’ first WWE Championship win is also his best so far. At Survivor Series 2015, he defeated his fellow former Shield member Dean Ambrose in the main event of the show to take home his first World Championship in the WWE.

After Seth Rollins (also of the Shield) was forced to vacate the WWE Championship after an injury against Kane during an Ireland house show, eight of the top WWE Superstars were placed into a tournament o decide the next champion.

The final match of the tournament took place at Survivor Series 2015, where Dean Ambrose vs Roman Reigns was the main event of the show.

Roman Reigns defeated Big Show, Cesaro and Alberto Del Rio to get to the final, meeting Dean Ambrose, who himself overcame Tyler Breeze, Dolph Ziggler and Kevin Owens to earn his show at the WWE Championship.

Reigns first WWE Championship win was much shorter than expected. However, as both men had to wrestle twice that night (winning their respective semi-final matches), the final bout had to be changed due to fatigue.

At the end of a decent match, Roman Reigns pinned Dean Ambrose after a spear to win the WWE Championship for the first time.

The pair fist bumped after the match, but the celebrations did not last long – Sheamus cashed in his Money in the Bank contract after the match, beating Reigns to win the WWE Championship for the first time in half a decade.

The match between Ambrose and Reigns as Survivor Series 2015 was the only time these two men wrestled one-on-one in WWE.

Leave a comment

Privacy Policy