Every AEW World Tag Team Championship Winners (List of Champions)

Check out our list of the history of the AEW Tag Team Championships, listing ever AEW Tag Team Champion in history.

The tag team division has been a key selling point of AEW since its formation in 2019.

The Young Bucks seemed determined to make the tag team titles as big as the world title when they signed for AEW, and they certainly did their best.

The lineage of the AEW Tag Team Championships is one of the most prestigious in AEW history, perhaps only being best by the AEW World Championship.

With former world champions and legendary teams holding the titles, they are considered some of the most prestigious titles in all wrestling.

The AEW Tag Team Championships were revealed by The Rock ‘n’ Roll Express on AEW Dynamite in 2019, as seen below:

AEW Tag Team Champions

Here is every AEW Tag Team Champion in history.

In this list, we’ll detail who won each title, as well as how long they held it for, how many title defenses they managed, and a little bit extra about their title reign.

Let us know what you think about the AEW Tag Team Championships in the comments sections below.

11. FTR (2)

Cash Wheeler & Dax Harwood

Date Won:5 April 2023
Date Lost:TBD
FTR defeating The Gunns in a “title vs career” match on AEW Dynamite – becoming the second team to win the AEW Tag Team Championships twice.

Reign Length: 116 days+

Title Defenses: 3

10. The Gunns

Austin Gunn & Colten Gunn

Date Won:8 February 2023
Date Lost:5 April 2023
The sons of Billy Gunn emulated their father by winning the AEW Tag Team Championship from The Acclaimed – becoming the third sibling duo to win the tag belts.

Reign Length: 56 Days

Title Defenses: 2

9. The Acclaimed

Max Caster & Anthony Bowens (with Billy Gunn)

Date Won:21 September 2022
Date Lost:8 February 2023
The AEW original tag team The Acclaimed won the tag titles from Swerve in our Glory, just weeks after losing to the pair at All Out 2022.

Reign Length: 140 Days

Title Defenses: 6

8. Swerve In Our Glory

Swerve Strickland & Keith Lee

Date Won:13 July 2022
Date Lost:21 September 2022
Keith Lee & Swerve Strickland shocked the world when they beat The Young Bucks & Team Tazz at Fyter Fest 2022, becoming the first all-black tag team champions in AEW.

Reign Length: 70 Days

Title Defenses: 3

7. Young Bucks (2)

Matt Jackson & Nick Jackson

Date Won:15 June 2022
Date Lost:13 July 2022
The Young Bucks made history, winning the AEW Tag Team Championships for the second time. They became the first two-time champions, although they took the place of The Hardy’s who were meant to win the match and the belts.

Reign Length: 28 Days

Title Defenses: 0

6. Jurassic Express

Jungle Boy & Luchasaurus

Date Won:5 January 2022
Date Lost:15 June 2022
Jungle Boy and Luchasaurus became tag team champions for the first time, beating the Lucha Bros on the TBS debut of AEW Dynamite. This was both man’s first title reign in All Elite Wrestling

Reign Length: 161 Days

Title Defenses: 7

5. Lucha Brothers

Rey Fenix & Penta El 0 M

Date Won:5 September 2021
Date Lost:5 January 2022
The first Mexican champions in AEW came when Lucha Brothers defeated the Young Bucks at All Out 2021. This ended the Bucks’ record-setting title reign, inside a steel cage match that was rated over 5 stars by Dave Meltzer.

Reign Length: 122 Days

Title Defenses: 4

4. Young Bucks

Matt Jackson & Nick Jackson

Date Won:7 November 2020
Date Lost:5 September 2021
After a slow start to their AEW career, the Young Bucks turned heel to claim tag team gold from FTR, in a five-star match at Full Gear 2021.

Reign Length: 302 Days

Title Defenses: 9

3. FTR

Dax Harwood & Cash Wheeler

Date Won:5 September 2020
Date Lost:7 November 2020
FTR broke out of WWE to join AEW in 2020, giving a huge shot in the arm to the tag team division. Their reign was one of the shortest in AEW history, but introduced FTR as a top tag team to the fans.

Reign Length: 63 Days

Title Defenses: 3

2. The Elite

“Hangman” Adam Page & Kenny Omega

Date Won:21 January 2020
Date Lost:5 September 2020
Adam Page and Kenny Omega became the second AEW Tag Team Champions in history, when they defeated SCU on the Jericho Cruise to win the belts for the first time.

Reign Length: 228 Days

Title Defenses: 9

1. SCU

Frankie Kazarian & Scorpio Sky

Date Won:30 October 2019
Date Lost:21 January 2020
SCU (with the help of Christopher Daniels) became the first ever AEW Tag Team Champions. They defeated the Lucha Brothers on the Halloween AEW Dynamite Special to win the inaugural AEW Tag Team Championship tournament.

Reign Length: 83 Days

Title Defenses: 3

Leave a comment

Privacy Policy