Eddie Kingston Is Entering the NJPW G1 Climax 33

Hamish Woodward

New Japan Pro Wrestling have announced the 32 entrants into the G1 Climax this year, with AEW star Eddie Kingston included for the first time.

Kingston has wrestle numerous times for NJPW over the past few years, mainly appearing on the NJPW Strong show in the United States.

He most recently defeated Jay White in a “loser leaves New Japan” match, sending the Kiwi packing before he signed for AEW on a permanent deal.

Eddie Kingston has long been a fan of Japanese wrestling, most notably the “Four Pillars of Heaven” in AJPW, whom he based a lot of his wrestling style off.

His inclusion in the G1 Climax tournament must be a huge accomplishment for Kingston, considering he was nearly forced to quit wrestling during the pandemic, before debuting for AEW.

NJPW has included Eddie Kingston in the 2023 G1 Climax, which is the 33rd edition of the tournament.

He joins other first-time entrants into the match, including Kaito Kiyomiya, Gabriel Kidd and Shota Umino.

New Japan have not yet announced which block Eddie Kingston will be in, nor who his opponents in the G1 Climax will be.

G1 Climax 33 Entrants

The following wrestlers are a part of the NJPW G1 Climax 33.

  1. Kazuchika Okada
  2. Tetsuya Naito
  4. Will Ospreay
  5. Hiroshi Tanahashi
  6. David Finlay
  7. Shota Umino (Debut)
  8. Shingo Takagi
  9. Tomohiro Ishii
  10. Tama Tonga
  11. Tanga Loa
  12. Hikuleo (Debut)
  13. Hirooki Goto
  15. Toru Yano
  16. KENTA
  17. Zack Sabre Jr.
  18. Taichi
  19. Eddie Kingston (AEW) (Debut)
  20. El Phantasmo
  21. Ren Narita
  22. EVIL
  23. Chase Owens
  24. Jeff Cobb
  25. Great-O-Khan
  26. Aaron Henare
  27. Gabriel Kidd (Debut)
  28. Alex Coughlin (Debut)
  29. Shane Haste (Debut)
  30. Mikey Nicholas (Debut)
  31. Yota Tsuji (Debut)
  32. Kaito Kiyomiya (Pro Wrestling NOAH) (Debut)

The tournament will begin on July 15th, 2023 in Sapporo, before moving on to Ryogoku in mid August.

G1 Climax Rules

The tournament features thirty-two wrestlers, divided in four blocks of eight (A, B, C and D). Each wrestler faces everyone in his block once.

Each winner is awarded with two points, with one point awarded for a draw and none for a loss. When all matches have been completed, the wrestlers with the most points in their block move forward to the semi-finals.

The two winners of the semi-finals then wrestle in the final match, to determine the winner of the G1 Climax 33. The victor earns a briefcase that guarantees a IWGP World Heavyweight Championship match at Wrestle Kingdom 18, although they will have to defend the briefcase in matches prior to the event.

Leave a comment

Privacy Policy